Missouri Minor in Possession Law (MIP)
“Minor in Possession Law (MIP)”
has been expanded to include possession by consumption
The Liquor Control Law (Chapter 311)
The Liquor Control Law (Chapter 311) states that it is no longer necessary to demonstrate that a minor had physical possession of an alcoholic beverage. If it can be shown that the minor has consumed alcohol, the minor can be charged with MIP.
The law in Missouri states that if the police find a minor visibly intoxicated or that minor has a detectable Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .02 and is under 21, he or she can be charged with “minor in possession (MIP) by consumption”.
No longer will a group of underage individuals caught with alcoholic beverages be able to “appoint” one person to be the “designated owner” of the alcohol- the one who gets arrested or the Summons In Lieu of Arrest.
Minors, people between 16 and 20 years old, who plead guilty to or are convicted of MIP face the following:
1st offense –
Driver’s license suspended for 30 days.
2nd offense –
Driver’s license suspended for 90 days.
3rd offence –
Driver’s license revoked for one year.
It’s a Big Deal
A misdemeanor may be on your record for life if you are convicted or plead guilty. In addition, if you do have a misdemeanor on your record, you could be responsible for revealing this information on job applications and applications for many colleges and advanced degree programs (such as medical school and law school).
Any adult who knowingly allows any person under 21 to consume alcohol on their property or who knowingly fails to stop a minor from drinking on their property shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Homeowners can be found liable for the subsequent consequences of such minors driving after consuming